WES MONTGOMERY: In Paris: The Definitive ORTF Recording (2CD)

We are told:

'In Paris: The Definitive ORTF Recording' captures jazz guitar legend Wes Montgomery on his only tour of Europe on the night of March 27, 1965 at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, France.

The first official release of this legendary concert, considered perhaps the greatest live Wes Montgomery performance ever, In Paris is being released in partnership with the Institut national de l'audiovisuel (INA) with remastered, high-resolution audio transferred directly from the original tape reels.

The concert was organized by Black Lion Records founder Alan Bates to the great delight of European audiences who had long wanted to see Wes perform live, but his severe fear of flying had kept him in the states. Featuring an all-star band with pianist Harold Mabern, bassist Arthur Harper and drummer Jimmy Lovelace, with special guest tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin.

The deluxe 2CD set includes an extensive 32-page booklet with stunning archival photos taken at the concert from famed music photographer Jean-Pierre Leloir; essays from historian and director of jazz studies at Rutgers University, Vincent Pelote, Resonance producer Zev Feldman and associate producer Pascal Rozat from INA; plus interviews with pianist Harold Mabern, renowned guitarist Russell Malone and more.

Disc: 1

  1. Four On Six
  2. Impressions
  3. The Girl Next Door
  4. Here's That Rainy Day
  5. Jingles

Disc: 2

  1. To Wane
  2. Full House
  3. 'Round Midnight
  4. Blue ‘N Boogie/West Coast Blues
  5. Twisted Blues

Leave a Reply