Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto

Ian Skelly introduces music making from Andrew Manze in Germany alongside performances of works by Weber, Ligeti, Debussy, Haydn and Tchaikovsky.

Arcangelo Corelli: Sonata No 1 in D Op5 - ii. Allegro (fuga)
Andrew Manze (violin)
Richard Egarr (harpsichord)

Carl Maria von Weber: Overture - The Ruler of the Spirits Op27
BBC Philharmonic
Vassily Sinaisky (conductor)

György Ligeti: Concert Romanesc
ORF Radio Symphony Orchestra
Marin Alsop (conductor)

Gustav Holst: 6 Choral Folksongs - 5. “I Love My Love” Op36B
Holst Singers,
Stephen Layton (conductor)

Claude Debussy: Prelude à l’après midi d’un faune
Ilan Volkov (conductor)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto
Bomsori Kim (violin)
NDR Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrew Manze (conductor)

Featured Artist Andrew Manze selects a piece of music for the afternoon.

Sergei Prokofiev: Sonata for solo violin
Josef Szigeti (violin)

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No 96 in D Hob I.96
Danish Chamber Orchestra
Adam Fischer (conductor)


Leave a Reply