ALBERT KING: Memphis Blues Festival 1975 (CD) by Albert King • BB King • Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland

We are told:

Albert King, BB King and Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland, live together, at the Memphis Blues Festival, TN on 8th November 1975.

With the recent acclaim of BB King and Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland’s joint double album venture Together For The First Time… Live, the addition of another King could only double the impact. The performance at the Memphis Blues Festival, TN on 8th November 1975, was set to be an explosive encounter between artist and audience, dipping into the darker reaches of their combined catalogues whilst flirting with new material. Bland was still relatively young next to the Kings who were now in their 50s, but the spirit of the blues is a force of nature that never lets up, no matter what age. Professionally re-mastered original FM broadcast with background liners and rare archival photographs.

Disc One

Albert King:

  1. Intro > Why You So Mean To Me
  2. Laundromat Blues
  3. I’ll Play The Blues For You
  4. You Don’t Love Me (w/ Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland)

Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland:

  1. Intro > In The Beginning
  2. I’ll Take Care Of You
  3. Your Friends
  4. You Wouldn’t Treat A Dog
  5. The Feeling Is Gone > Stormy Monday

Disc Two

BB King:

  1. Intro > Let The Good Times Roll
  2. How Blues Can Get You
  3. Why I Sing the Blues
  4. Medley: Three O’ Clock Blues > It’s My Own Fault > I’m Sorry (w/ Albert King & Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland)

5. I Like To Live The Love (w/ Albert King & Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland)

Leave a Reply