In 1971, Atlantic Records released a pair of Dusty Springfield singles produced by the legendary songwriter/producer Jeff Barry (one-time songwriting and romantic partner of Ellie Greenwich, and author of too many hits to name): "Haunted"/"Nothing Is Forever" and "I Believe In You"/"Someone Who Cares." A restless Dusty, freshly relocat- ing to America from her native England, then departed the label and left an 9 songs recorded with Barry in the can, where they stayed until. Rhino issued one track, "Faithful" (in mono), as a bonus track on the 1990s CD release of Dusty's 1970 Atlantic album A Brand New Me.

The other tracks didn't surface until a subsequent deluxe reissue of Dusty's landmark 1969 album Dusty in Memphis included them as bonus cuts. Now, reissue producer Jim Pierson—who tracked down the missing masters after being lost for over two decades —has assembled all of Dusty's Barry--produced masters and put them together in a single package for the first time to create the third Dusty Springfield Atlantic Records album as planned in 1971.

Real Gone Music's release of Faithful presents these historic Barry-Springfield collaborations exactly as they were originally intended to be heard, with the 12 tracks intended for the album release and one intended for single-only release. All tracks are in stereo, while the liner notes, penned by The Second Disc's Joe Marchese, feature a number of rarely-seen photos of the legendary singer. These stunning pop, soul and gospel flavored selections showcase the iconic singer at the height of her vocal magic. A missing/jumbled part of Dusty's august recorded legacy, finally set right!

1. I'll Be Faithful
2. Live Here With You
3. Haunted
4. Someone Who Cares
5. Make It With You
6. Love Shine Down
7. I Believe In You
8. Have A Good Life Baby
9. Natchez Trace
10. All The King's Horses
11. You've Got A Friend
12. I Found My Way Through The Darkness
13. Nothing Is Forever

Leave a Reply