THE GRATEFUL DEAD: Avalon Ballroom – April 6th 1969 (Limited 2CD) Full track list shown here

1000 only!

On the weekend of April 4-6, 1969, the Grateful Dead headlined at the Avalon Ballroom, the last rock show at the Avalon for almost 40 years.

The final night was broadcast on KPFA-FM Berkeley, generating a tape that was one of the few good quality '69 tapes in early circulation.

The two opening acts were also broadcast, and those tapes circulated as well, if less widely. Second on the bill were The Flying Burrito Brothers, not a particularly successful band at the time, but who ultimately became quite legendary. Burritos' sets from the first night (April 4) and the last night (April 6) were released as an archival set in 2009.

The third band on the bill was AUM from San Francisco.

Great performances of "It's All Over Now Baby Blue", "Death Don't Have No Mercy" and "The Other One". The band was forced to conclude "Viola Lee Blues" acapella after the plug was pulled on the equipment for playing past the ballroom curfew!

Disc: 1

  1. Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl
  2. Tuning
  3. Beat It On Down the Line
  4. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  5. King Bee
  6. Cryptical Envelopment
  7. Drums
  8. The Other One
  9. Cryptical Envelopment
  10. Death Don't Have No Mercy

 Disc: 2

  1. Turn On Your Lovelight
  2. Tuning
  3. Viola Lee Blues

Leave a Reply