THE BLUES BAND: Rock Goes To College (CD+DVD)

Keele University, United Kingdom, 22nd May, 1980. Rock Goes To College was a BBC series that first ran between 1978 and 1981 on British television. Upcoming

rock bands were showcased, and it was broadcast ‘live’ from small venues at University, Polytechnic and College halls, where tickets were often given free to students, ensuring a full capacity attendance and lively atmosphere.

Each performance would be a 40-50 minute set, and the original ‘Sight & Sound’ broadcasts were transmitted simultaneously on BBC TV and in Stereo on BBC Radio One. The Blues Band is a great example of the kind of good-time blues and boogie band that would go down well at a crammed students’ union gig.

This performance captures the band at a peak in 1980, when they were riding high in popularity on the back of their successful ‘The Official Blues Band Bootleg Album’ and the ‘Ready’ album also in the pipeline. Authoritative liner notes by Blues Matters magazine’s Roy Bainton (who was also once the Blues Band Fan Club secretary). Contains a new interview with the band members.

1. Intro
2. Come On In
3. Talk To Me Baby
4. Death Letter
5. Going Home
6. I Can’t Hold Out Much Longer
7. Someday Baby
8. Boom Boom (Out Go The Lights)
9. Nadine
10 I Don’t Know Why
11. Diddy Wah Diddy
12. Hoochie Coochie Man
1. Come On In
2. Talk To Me Baby
3. Death Letter
4. Going Home
5. I Can’t Hold Out Much Longer
6. Someday Baby
7. Boom Boom (Out Go The Lights)
8. Nadine
9. I Don’t Know Why
10. Diddy Wah Diddy
11. Hoochie Coochie Man

Leave a Reply