THE GRATEFUL DEAD: JULY 1978: THE COMPLETE RECORDINGS (12CD Box Ltd Ed. Individually Numbered)

JULY 1978: THE COMPLETE RECORDINGS, five incredible unreleased shows and the first official release from the long-lost “Betty Boards,” recently returned to the Grateful Dead’s vault.

Follow the Dead on a sonic journey through a superb selection of settings, an often epic adventure that finds them winning over Willie and Waylon fans in Kansas City, conjuring charisma in Omaha, and elevating the Red Rocks beyond their already spiritual planes. With five distinct performances painting the masterpiece of 1978, Betty Cantor-Jackson's always-pristine soundboard recordings, and the "hall-of-fame pedigree" of the Dead's first-ever shows at the legendary Red Rocks Amphitheatre, this is one release that far exceeds excellence in music, sound quality, and rarity.

Limited to 15,000 individually numbered copies, JULY 1978: THE COMPLETE RECORDINGS includes Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, MO (7/1/78), St. Paul Civic Center, St. Paul, MN (7/3/78), Omaha Civic Auditorium, Omaha, NE (7/5/78), and Red Rocks Amphitheater, Morrison CO (7/7/78 and 7/8/78) - all of the performances in this collection are drawn from the band’s master soundboard recordings, each newly mastered by Jeffrey Norman.

The set also features original artwork by esteemed cartoonist Paul Pope (D.C. and Marvel comics) and in-depth liner notes written by Nick Meriwether (Grateful Dead Archives at the University of California, Santa Cruz), as well as a producer’s note from producer David Lemieux.

Five Complete Shows on 12 discs

• 7/1/78 Arrowhead Stadium: Kansas City, MO

• 7/3/78 St. Paul Civic Center Arena: St. Paul, MN

• 7/5/78 Omaha Civic Auditorium: Omaha, NE

• 7/7/78 Red Rocks Amphitheatre: Morrison, CO

• 7/8/78 Red Rocks Amphitheatre: Morrison, CO

Mastered in HDCD by Jeffrey NormanArtwork by esteemed cartoonist Paul PopeIntro and show-by-show liner notes by Nicholas Meriwether

Producer's Note by David Lemieux

Individually Numbered, Limited Edition of 15,000

Release Date: May 13, 2016

Leave a Reply