7 (CD) by Soft Machine

We are told .....

"Seven" is the seventh studio album by the Canterbury associated band Soft Machine, released in 1973. The album is the last Softs release with a numbered title and also the last released by Columbia.

Mike Ratledge composed a trio of connected tracks for Seven, a mini-suite beginning with the modal 9/8 "Day's Eye," including a solo feature for him to cut loose with his patented fuzz organ tone, bridging through the brief burst of "Bone Fire" to the truly heavy "Tarabos," its bass/keyboard vamp pulling upward and resolving at skewed points along an 18-beat sequence while Jenkins solos wildly with a signal splitter on his horn.