XTC – Drums & Wires (CD+Blu-ray)

Drums & Wires (CD+Blu-ray)

  • Drums & Wires is the second in a series of remixed & expanded XTC Classics
  • The album has been mixed for 5.1 Surround Sound from the original studio masters by

Steven Wilson with input from Andy Partridge & is fully approved by XTC.

  • CD features a completely new stereo album mix by Steven Wilson
  • CD also features 6 additional singles & non-album tracks, 5 mixed by Steven Wilson
  • Blu-Ray features a 5.1 Surround mix in 24bit/96khz mixed from the original multi-track tapes available in LPCM and DTS HD MA.
  • Blu-Ray features the new stereo album mix in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio.
  • Blu-Ray features the original stereo album mix in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio.
  • Blu-Ray also features 3 tracks from DJM mix sessions (for potential single mixes)
  • Blu-Ray exclusive: 10 additional 5.1 mixes of singles & non-album tracks + a single up-mix.
  • Blu-Ray exclusive: instrumental versions of all new mixes in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio.
  • Blu-Ray exclusive: 5 separate sessions marking the complete evolution of the album & associated recordings.
  • Blu-Ray Exclusive: Promo films for “Life Begins at the Hop” & “Making Plans for Nigel”.
  • Presented in special packaging with expanded booklet & sleeve-notes by Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding & Dave Gregory

 1977 may have been Year Zero for Punk Rock & accompanying newspaper headlines of horror but it produced few memorable albums from the new generation. 1979, by comparison, produced a shelf load of vinyl wonders with LP debuts from the likes of Gang of Four, Joy Division, The Specials & Human League, second offerings from PIL (Metal Box) & Magazine (Secondhand Daylight) & - dispelling the myth about “difficult” third albums - Wire (154), Talking Heads (Fear of Music), Elvis Costello (Armed Forces) & Japan (Quiet Life) issued respectively consistent, sure-footed, albums. Amidst this splendid flowering of the post-punk community, replete with the sort of musical diversity that would have been unimaginable two years earlier & sadly unthinkable today, Swindon’s finest, XTC, also produced an early classic album with the Steve Lillywhite produced Drums & Wires. Andy Partridge recalls it as an optimistic time for the band. Dave Gregory’s arrival on guitar (replacing organist Barry Andrews who left following the release of Go2) marked a shift in style with the group now configured as a twin guitar/bass/drums line-up.

Despite an endless touring schedule much time was spent honing new material. Both Partridge & Colin Moulding were growing in confidence as songwriters – this album did much to further their reputation for peerless post-punk pop tunes. But it was also Steve Lillywhite & engineer Hugh Padgham’s ability to give appropriate studio support & recording expertise to the more expansive pieces such as “Roads Girdle The Globe” & “Complicated Game” that helped to bring a new level of maturity to the overall feel of the release. Issued at the start of September, Drums & Wires entered the UK Albums Chart where it remained for a total of seven weeks, accompanied by another first for the band, a Top 20 UK (& international) hit single in album lead track “Making Plans for Nigel”. The optimism of the recording sessions had proved justified.

35 years later, Steven Wilson has mixed the album in a new stereo edition (featured on both CD & Hi-Res disc formats) & in 5.1 Surround Sound, bringing a fresh aural perspective to one of 1979’s most memorable albums. Several other tracks have also been mixed afresh & appear in both stereo & 5.1, including both sides of the single that was included with initial copies of the original vinyl LP, non-album single releases & b sides. The original album mix is also included in High-Resolution stereo. The Blu-Ray edition also includes the DJM mixes – songs earmarked as potential single releases, videos for singles “Making Plans for Nigel” & “Life Begins at the Hop” & 5 full demo sessions tracking the complete evolution of the album – a virtual boxed set on a single Blu-Ray disc.

For those already familiar with the album this release provides a fully renewed and expanded edition of a much loved album. For anyone fortunate enough to be new to the album, yes, pop music really was this good at one point in time. It was even reasonably popular.


Presented in LPCM Audio

– Album mixed in 5.1 Surround

– New Stereo Album mix

– Original Stereo Album  mix

+ Blu-Ray exclusive material including:

Numerous additional stereo & 5.1 tracks, new stereo album instrumental mixes,

5 demos sessions & promo films for the singles.

One thought on “XTC – Drums & Wires (CD+Blu-ray)

Leave a Reply