DR. JOHN: The Atco Albums Collection (7CD Clamshell Box with Replica LP Sleeves)


We are told:

Dr. John, a six-time Grammy® Award winner and a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee (2011) began his solo career in 1968 on ATCO Records, where he released seven albums that introduced classics like “Iko Iko”, “Right Place, Wrong Time”, and “Such A Night”. Rhino will explore Dr. John’s early days with a new seven-CD set that follows his evolution from a psychedelic, voodoo witch doctor to a celebrated interpreter of New Orleans standards.

All seven studio albums have been remastered for the first time. The set features: Gris-Gris (1968), Babylon (1969), Remedies (1970), The Sun, Moon & Herbs (1971), Dr. John’s Gumbo (1972), In The Right Place (1973), and Desitively Bonnaroo (1974).

Gris-Gris (1968) was his debut album and it featured music deeply influenced by his fascination with voodoo folklore and the musical traditions of New Orleans as did his three following albums — Babylon; Remedies; The Sun, Moon & Herbs. Among the highlights on those four albums are standouts like “Mama Roux”, “I Walk On Gilded Splinters”, “Black Widow Spider”, “Familiar Reality”, and the epic “Angola Anthem”.

His next album, Dr. John’s Gumbo, was a tribute to the music he grew up listening to in New.  Afterwards, he collaborated with Allen Toussaint and The Meters on two groundbreaking New Orleans funk albums. In the Right Place reached #24 on the charts thanks to the hits “Right Place, Wrong Time” and “Such A Night”. Its follow-up, Desitively Bonnaroo, featured the hit “(Everybody Wanna Get Rich) Rite Away”, and years later helped inspire the name of the popular music festival Bonnaroo.

Leave a Reply