Rush – The Lady Gone Electric (CD)


Recorded at the Electric Ladyland Studios in New York City, in December 1974 in preparation for their first US tour, this sublime Rush performance was given in front of an audience of 8-12 people in the small studio, and thus provides a fine example of this remarkable bands early live sound. This was also the earliest recording made with Neil Peart on drums, Peart having replaced their former skins-man John Rutsy, a few months before this show.

They perform material from their first album and new songs from the soon to be released Fly by Night LP.

The show was undertaken to provide a live broadcast for FM Radio, and was transmitted across the airwaves prior to the release of "Fly by Night."

The FBN songs are still coming together, so some, notably "Best I Can", contain some alternate lyrics.

The structure of "Fly by Night" is different, with the guitar solo coming after the vocal bridge and a completely different ending.

We get a rare treat in "Working Man," when Alex delivers a guitar solo outside of the normal structure of the song.

Apparently, several mics were set up around the studio, with only a very basic soundboard feed. The result is a very well-mixed sound - so much so, in places it sounds as though its lifted direct from the first album. The three bonus cuts included are from the groups first US television performance on the legendary Don Kirshner Rock Show programme in October 74.

1. Finding My Way 05:19
2. Best I Can 03:11
3. In the Mood 03:42
4. Anthem 04:36
5. Need Some Love 03:30
6. Fly by Night 03:20
7. Here Again 09:17
8. Bad Boy 06:36
9. Working Man 12.22
10. Best I Can 02.55
11. In the Mood 03.17
12. Finding My Way 04.36