Outlaws – Los Angeles 1976 (CD)

Los Angeles 1976 (CD)

A vintage live recording by the band that merged Southern Rock with Traditional Country to create a sound all their own, Outlaws!
  • Features the triple guitar assault of Hughie Thomasson (later of Lynyrd Skynyrd), Henry Paul (later of Blackhawk) & Billy Jones, playing live for a thrilled crowd at the very height of the band’s popularity!
  • Includes spectacular 14-minute performance of the epic “Green Grass & High Tides” plus “There Goes Another Love Song,” “Knoxville Girl” and more!
  • Available in both a reverse board digipak for CD and a limited edition reverse board jacket for LP!

Formed in Tampa in 1972, The Outlaws – known for their triple guitar rock attack and three-part country harmonies – became one of the first acts signed by Clive Davis (at the urging of Ronnie Van Zant) to his then-fledgling Arista Records. The band’s first three albums The Outlaws, Lady In Waiting and Hurry Sundown – featuring such rock radio favorites as “There Goes Another Love Song”, “Green Grass & High Tides”,“Knoxville Girl” and “Freeborn Man” – would become worldwide gold and platinum landmarks of the Southern Rock era. Known as ‘The Florida Guitar Army’ by their fans,

The Outlaws earned a formidable reputation as an incendiary live act touring with friends The Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Marshall Tucker Band and The Charlie Daniels Band as well as The Doobie Brothers, The Who, Eagles and The Rolling Stones.Henry Paul left after the group’s third album to form The Henry Paul Band for Atlantic Records, and later the multi-Platinum country trio Blackhawk. Over the next 20+ years,

The Outlaws would experience rampant personnel changes, tonal missteps,ill-fated reunions and bitter trademark battles that left fans –not to mention Paul and Yoho – frustrated and saddened. And with the tragic deaths of co-founding members Frank O’Keefe and Billy Jones in 1995, and especially vocalist/lead guitarist Hughie Thomasson in 2007, it was feared that The Outlaws’ trail had come to an end.

1. Waterhole
2. Stick Around For Rock & Roll
3. Song In The Breeze
4. Lover Boy
5. Freeborn Man
6. Cry No More
7. Knoxville Girl
8. Green Grass & High Tides
9. There Goes Another Love Song